These Naval Divisions are not only the local training centres for Reserves, but are recruiting offices for the Royal Canadian Navy. Drawing heavily on surplus war equipment for basic training gear, and making use in many instances of new buildings, the Divisions are well fitted to meet modern high instructional standards. Each has been allocated responsibility for specialized training in various phases of naval activity—gunnery, harbour defence, aviation, communications, etc.—and Royal Canadian Navy officers and men have been provided as instructors. Each Division is commanded by a R.C.N. (R) Active List officer, under whom is a Royal Canadian Navy staff officer.

More than 3,000 officers and men of the R.C.N. (R), including members of the University Naval Training Divisions, took part in more than 75 separate cruises in H.M.C. ships during the May-October, 1949, training period.

Apart from annual training, officers and men of the R.C.N. (R) may perform voluntary service and special naval duty as required by Naval Headquarters. In the latter case they take the places of Permanent Force officers and men where vacancies exist in complement.

There are two types of enlistment in the R.C.N. (R). Officers may be on either the Active List or the Retired List. Those on the former must take periodic training, but retired officers may volunteer for training if they so desire. Both classes are liable to mobilization in a time of emergency.

Men are placed on Active or Emergency Lists and are governed by the same conditions as apply to officers. They sign on for five-year periods.

University Naval Training Divisions.—Divisions for naval training are established at 32 universities and colleges across Canada: Prince of Wales College, St. Dunstan's College, Acadia University, Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia Technical College, St. Francis Xavier University, University of King's College, University of St. Mary's College, Mount Allison University, University of New Brunswick, College Saint-Alexandre de la Gatineau, École Polytechnique, Laval University, McGill University, Sir George Williams College, University of Montreal, Assumption College, Carleton College, McMaster University, Ontario Agricultural College, Ottawa University, Queen's University, St. Patrick's College, University of Toronto, University of Western Ontario, Lakehead Technical Institute, University of Manitoba, University of Saskatchewan, Regina College, University of Alberta, University of British Columbia and Victoria College.

The University Naval Training Divisions program offers undergraduates of all faculties four years of instruction leading to a commission in the Royal Canadian Navy and the Royal Canadian Navy (Reserve). It is designed to produce officers in all branches and, to this end, offers training both ashore and affoat.

Training is taken at Naval Divisions and at universities during the academic year. Summer vacation training is taken both in the schools at the coasts and in H.M.C. ships.

The Royal Canadian Sea Cadets.—The Royal Canadian Sea Cadets consists of 80 authorized corps, sponsored by the Navy League of Canada and trained and supervised by the Royal Canadian Navy. The authorized strength is 10,000 cadets between the ages of 14 and 18 years. During a period of two summer months, at five different camps maintained for their training, 4,000 cadets averaged 14 days each.